Shelf Life

Steinbeck under Shock

Posted in Uncategorized by Shelf Life on August 3, 2009

Part of my work brings me to various institutions that caters to the less and underprivileged strata of our society in Manila. When I went to a boys’ home to accompany my students, I saw a corner they call “the library” in their social hall. It has around three shelves stuffed with brown leafed used text books donated for the boys’ use.

I checked on the shelves and was shocked seeing an Alvin Toffler “Futureshock” book in the book pile.

DSCN7231

Not that it is a shocking thing but I just like the shocking of the ryhme.

Then I saw two boys rummaging though the pile

DSCN7238

then sat and browsed a celebrated author known to write and represent the struggles and aspirations of the marginalized peoples.

DSCN7235

Read on, boys.

Leave a comment